Romuald Hazoumé in conversation

After a screening of The Genome Chronicles directed by John Akomfrah (formerly of Black Audio Film Collective) we were priviledged to hear one of Africa’s most celebrated contemporary artists Romuald Hazoumé in conversation with Elisabeth Lalouschek of the October Gallery in London.

Romuald detailed the tradition and symbolism in his work, however it was most inspiring to learn about what inspires him to make artwork about his homeland.

“I don’t always know where I am, or where I’m going, but I certainly know where I’m from.

I am always making art for my community, because I know them the best and I want to help them to be more open.”

Explore the Romuald Hazoumé collection at the October Gallery here

Leave a Reply

